New discovery: ANNA magazine

October 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

At work today a customer bought only a single magazine, and while I waited for her purchase to ring through the cash register I looked at the simply designed, striking cover, featuring a braised whole chicken underneath tall black text: “ANNA.”

The customer buying the magazine praised the publication, and when I asked where it was from I was delighted when she said “Winnipeg, I think?”

Indeed, Anna is made in creator Mari Loewen’s basement in Winnipeg, Manitoba by her dedicated staff of six. Published quarterly, the debut issue premiered in May 2006. The magazine is named for Loewen’s mother Anna, who embraced the values of the magazine: simple, organic cooking.

In this issue, which I promptly bought on my way out of work, there is an entire section dedicated to cooking with pumpkin and squash. I’m only too excited to try the pumpkin scone recipe! The beautifully designed pages are filled with amazing food photography.

Mmm. A hearty rigatoni with sausage and ricotta caught my eye. Story of my life!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New discovery: ANNA magazine at table talk.

meta

