Food & Drink festival recap

April 12, 2011 § 2 Comments

If you didn’t make it out to the Food & Drink festival this weekend, you missed out. I took some mediocre pictures and have included some of my personal highlights:

To start the night I tried a white wine from the LCBO Vintages booth from Flat Rock Cellars Riesling. I’m new to wine but this one was fresh and smooth, clean and sweet.

From there my taste buds experienced a sharp twist when I visited The Extreme Bean. The Ontario company bottles spicy green beans that are tangy and were served in sample Caesars, or stuffed into olives. Delicious!

I spoke with Matt from Muskoka Lakes Winery, who makes wine with cranberries. I sampled a small taste of Cranberry Blueberry Wine, which was sharp and fruity, the sweetness of the blueberries balancing the tartness of the cranberries. I would definitely serve this with dessert, something chocolatey, or maybe a pastry filled with cream.

At Gibson’s Finest Canadian Whisky, I took a shot of whisky and chased it with a shot of pickle juice. I was skeptical of the combination at first, but it was an interesting balance of the sweet burn of whisky and the salty swallow of pickle juice. I don’t know if I’d make a habit out of it though!

I had tacos from Mex-I-Can, as did my friend Sean above (I don’t know what that shadow is lurking on the left side, honestly my photo-taking skills aren’t great) which was great. Then Sean and I each had a butter tart from Dyment’s Bakery that had good, cold flaky pastry and were fortunately raisin-free! I just can’t hide my disappointment when raisins are embedded in the buttery filling.

I tasted a few drops of Mr. Vinegar‘s Cucumber Blush vinegar, which would be delicious in salad dressings, perfectly sweet and fresh. I definitely want to get some of Munro Honey’s thick and creamy honey butter. Coincidentally I had some the next day on warm freshly baked bread and it was amazing. I had it as an appetizer but I imagine it would be superb with breakfast or brunch too. Hamilton’s Salerno Dairy had samples of mascarpone, my new favourite cheese (actually those are some pretty strong words, I don’t know if I can safely say that). I’d love to attempt tiramisu with it soon.

My friends Lou, Jeff and Mike did an extensive scotch tasting at Glenfiddich. At the end of the night, I had some quenching, malty Lemon Tea beer at Mill Street Brewery, and a tiny, adorable Chocolate Banana cupcake from the Cupcake Diner from their swanky van. I finished the night off with a cup of coffee from Red Hill.

I had a fantastic food-filled weekend, even after Food & Drink. My mom made roast beef for Sunday dinner and my friend Mike made me eggs Benedict for Saturday brunch. My mom loves poached eggs, so I think after watching Mike poach eggs and whisk perfect, buttery hollandaise sauce that I am going to attempt the same next weekend!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Food & Drink festival recap

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Food & Drink festival recap at table talk.

meta

