Cake+Loaf bakery opens today!

August 26, 2011 § 2 Comments

Cake+Loaf Bakery is officially open for business today on Dundurn Street South. Alex and I spoke to owners Josie Rudderham and Nicole Sherman on The Grapevine last year about their support for small businesses in Hamilton and sourcing locally grown ingredients for their baking. The bakery even offers a CSB program where you can sign up for a weekly delivery or pickup of delicious baked goods.

Their space is small but very pretty. They sell Detour coffee, jams and preserves (I spied some delicious looking peach salsa on the shelf), fancy little cakes, pies, drinks (peach soda), sandwiches, breads and pastries.

Today my mom and our friend Matt had the cheddar scones, which Matt proclaimed was “the best scone I have ever eaten.” They were moist and not too dense. I had the ginger cookie ($2) which tasted heavily of molasses, which I love in baking, and was incredibly chewy and soft.

We took home a loaf of cheddar onion beer bread ($5). Let me warn you: this bread is dangerous. It is so fluffy and moist, cheesy and buttery, that before you know it 2/3 of the loaf is gone between my mom and I.

Their regular hours are 7 am – 6 pm Tuesday-Friday, and 8 am – 5 pm on Saturdays. The bakery will be open tomorrow from 8 am – 5 pm, so I suggest you check it out!

§ 2 Responses to Cake+Loaf bakery opens today!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cake+Loaf bakery opens today! at table talk.

meta

